PDA

View Full Version : Best ink for a flex pen?

Carpio
July 3rd, 2023, 05:25 AM
Hello,

As the title suggests - is there such a thing as the best ink/type/manufacturer of ink to use in a flex pen?
I want to learn how to write 'posh' (now that my handwritting has improved thanks to fountain pens), but now, as in 'using a flex pen', and after watching numerous vids from youtube regarding the use of a flex pen/nib, it appears that when there is a close-up shot of the nib opening, and the ink flows, it looks 'wet'. if that makes sense. Runny for me = wet.
As a novice, I am happy to admit I know no difference.
Mizgeorge was kind enough to help me avoid damage to a pen with a new sac fitted and the ink I had filled it with, so it kind of makes complete sense to ask in advance of a catastrophe maybe blocking the flex pen from 'opening' due to, I think you call it, 'gunk'?.

Thanks for any help.

Carpio

Yazeh
July 3rd, 2023, 07:27 AM
Is it a vintage pen?

If so, avoid pigment (De Atramentis), bulletproof (Noodler's - Polar/ Bad/), shimmer, highly saturated (Diamine Bilberry, Noodler's Baystate family), high sheen (For ex, Organics Studio Nitrogen, and many more), Pink (Ex. Herbin Rose Cyclamen, Skrip Red - They are difficult to clean)/Red/Purple inks in general ;)

That doesn't mean there are not exceptions to the above.
Traditionally Waterman/ Parker/Pelikan blues are what everyone uses.
Other brands, most Diamine/ J Herbin (classical lines) are ok.

Others would more experience will hopefully chime in :)

RobJohnson
July 3rd, 2023, 07:43 AM
Great advice from Yazeh

I am guessing that this ink is for your Mabie Todd.

Personally I would keep it simple with Parker or Waterman.

The beauty of the writing will be from the nib and not the ink

manoeuver
July 3rd, 2023, 08:59 AM
A lot of the time it's more about the nib tuning and technique than the ink.

If it's a vintage pen, avoid modern inks (I only use Waterman in vintage pens.)