PDA

View Full Version : Making my own inks, any interest?

JTokash
September 26th, 2013, 12:43 AM
I know I'm pretty new here, so I thought I'd let you know a bit about me and also mention that I'm starting to make my own inks now.

I'm a Ph.D. scientist with my own garage mad scientist's lab that lets me play around with all sorts of stuff that I can't do at work. My background is in physics and electrochemistry, so I play with chemicals all day and have been working on making inks once I get home in the evenings.

I guess I'm just curious if there would be any interest in my inks? These are super high purity since I buy ACS grade chemicals instead of " technical grade" ones. I'll upload some photos tomorrow since I'm on my phone now and can't seem to figure out how to post them in this mobile version of the forum.

If there's enough interest, I'd consider sending some test samples to get feedback so I can make them as good as possible... at this point I'm still in the development phase. They are all neutral or near-neutral pH and I'm just tweaking the viscosity and surface tension to get proper flow characteristics. The inks are dye-based and I have seven base colors so far, which will let me blend custom colors in the near future. The base colors (from the raw dyes) are: black, blue-black, red, yellow, green, blue, and violet.

I hope this is the right place to post this... I've been talking with the infamous S.B.R.E. Brown and Azizah (GourmetPens) on Twitter and via email, and Azizah suggested that I post here to see what everyone thinks.

Thanks for your attention if you've read this, any feedback would be greatly appreciated. If interest is really high, I'm hoping to turn this into a side business and I would always welcome input so that my inks could be as good as they could get.

Kind regards,
Justin

Jon Szanto
September 26th, 2013, 12:54 AM
Hello Justin, and welcome!