PDA

View Full Version : Rocky Mountain Hi!

Rich L
February 27th, 2012, 12:10 AM
Hello folks from Denver,

I met a couple of real fp geeks at the LA show - Dan and Eric and we had some nice chats ... so I thought I'd join up. I'm an amateur metalworker and I'm been very slowly making pens for about 10 years and I think I've finally got some techniques down. I don't know acrylic from plaster!

I bought my first fountain pen in 1966 - a Parker 75. I bought it in Germany at a military base PX for $25 which was a veritable fortune for a kid. I loved writing with it and did so off and on for the next 35 years until I saw some of Andy Lambrou's Classic Pens; the CP5 Parker commemorative. I got infatuated with those particular pens, the metal, and the engraving and after a couple years I decided to make my own go at it and expanded my existing metal shop with a few additional capabilities. For reasons I can't explain I got sidetracked with Damascus steel and made a few pens out of that nasty but beautiful stuff. Subsequent to that silver took hold and there I be now. My passion is engine turning that stuff.

While all that was going on I filled out a collection of just about all the modern Parker Duofold Centennials that were made since 1987. There are only a few like the "DNA" set, Bumblebee, Asian maroon, and some other oddballs that are different just because the little tassie on the top is different than standard. Anyway, it's complete enough for me to say I don't need any more of them. So I started collecting a good set of Conway Stewart silver pens, a couple Montegrappa, Classic Pens CP6 and CP7 and I have a real nice Edison Pen that Brian made specially for me.

So there's a little bit.

This should be fun!

Cheers,
Rich

KrazyIvan
February 27th, 2012, 09:24 AM
Hello Rich. It is really cool that you got to go to the LA pen show. I have yet to go to one. I really need to time a visit to my brother in North Carolina to coincide with the Raleigh pen show.