PDA

View Full Version : Inks for Fine Points

VertOlive
November 4th, 2013, 08:32 PM
Alright, I'm new to this. Now that I've gotten a few fountain pens to start my collection, and spent a few evenings experimenting with my 5 ink samples and my new Rhodia notebook, I notice how different an ink looks when it comes out of a stub nib vs. a fine point nib.

Here's my question: how to choose an ink that will have more intensity on the paper when it's in a fine point pen? Are some inks better than others? Overall, I imagine the darkest inks will be better, but even the black I have comes out greyish when I use my new TWSBI Mini finepoint.

Any suggestions?

Thanks and gratitude ahead of time!

VO

cwent2
November 4th, 2013, 08:56 PM
What black do you have?

VertOlive
November 4th, 2013, 09:25 PM
It's a cheapo art store ink...

The Good Captain
November 5th, 2013, 01:49 AM
I've found that inks like Cult Pens/Diamine Deep Dark Blue or Brown look good out a Fine Pilot nib, for example. Also the regular Diamine Eclipse and Denim.

AndyT
November 5th, 2013, 02:39 AM
The Inkcyclopedia (http://fpgeeks.com/category/inkcyclopedia/) is good for this, not so much the videos (sorry Stephen!) but the high resolution photos in the zipped packages.

Brands which tend towards high saturation like Noodler and Private Reserve tend to retain a good deal of presence with a fine nib, and so do iron gall inks. In fact my pick for a really intense look with a very fine nib would be the old Montblanc Midnight Blue with the IG content. I can definitely see all of the Good Captain's suggestions working well too.

Jeph
November 5th, 2013, 03:00 AM