PDA

View Full Version : Ink and Nibs for Lamy Safari....

spaciousmind
November 12th, 2013, 05:43 PM
Hi, I'm new to fountain pens but I got a Lamy Safari a few months back and have been using it to draw with almost on a daily basis ever since.

I purchased the medium round (MK) nib and the extra fine (EF) nib with it.
the medium roud nib is absolutely useless, hard starts all the time.
So I have decided to get a second safari pen so I can have different line widths in my drawings. figured I'll go with a broad nib to get the biggest variation from the extra fine. hopefully it shouldn't have the same problem as the medium round.

I've been using the LAMY cartridge inks which are very economical but now I would like to get a bottle of waterproof ink (I already have the converter). I'm in NZ and would prefer to buy locally if I can to save on costs. There's not many options but at the online store where I got the pen they stock Waterman, Pelikan, Parker, Lamy, Herbin and Cross inks.

can anyone tell me if any of these brands have a good black waterproof ink that won't damage my pen?

snedwos
November 12th, 2013, 06:27 PM
Um, none of them? Afaik. I am not familiar with cross inks, but the others aren't known for permanence, at least not the blacks. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

Laura N
November 12th, 2013, 07:29 PM
Sailor and Platinum both make a pigmented waterproof black ink for fountain pens. They shouldn't damage your pen, though they may call for more attention to maintenance. Platinum's is called Platinum Carbon Ink (http://www.jetpens.com/Platinum-Carbon-Pen-Ink-60-cc-Bottle-Black/pd/3461) and Sailor's is Nano Black (http://www.jetpens.com/Sailor-Fountain-Pen-Nano-Ink-50-ml-Bottle-Ultra-Black/pd/4852). I'm linking to a U.S. store, but I am sure you can find one of them locally.

ac12
November 16th, 2013, 09:34 PM
@spaciousmind
Question, WHY waterproof ink?