PDA

View Full Version : Pelikan Pelikano Junior Fountain Pen Review (Video)

heath
November 20th, 2013, 03:13 PM
This is my first attempt at a video review. It needs plenty of work I know but I am satisfied with it for my first attempt. Let me know what you think of the pen, the review and the video. All the images can be found with the full review here: http://penpaperinkletter.com/pelikan-pelikano-junior-fountain-pen-review/

This is the Pelikan Pelikano Junior Fountain Pen. It is made for children in that the design is kid focused and a few features Pelikan claims will be helpful for them. In several descriptions I have seen for this pen though it also appears that this pen is being marketed to anyone of any age that fancies the look of the pen. With the cap on it is an all blue translucent fountain pen with smooth lines. With the cap off it turns into a bit more of a stylized blue and yellow/orange pen that will attract some and lose others. The rubber grip is a bright yellow/orange and it has blue raised markings which add to the style as well as function. In the capped position I quite like the look of the pen but uncapped I think it loses some of its luster. For kids though, I think they will like it.

This rubber grip has 3 notches of different sizes and markings. The bottom notch is smaller and presumably for a grip that you should have when writing with a fountain pen but I just can’t make use of it with my grip. The top two that are in a similar position as the Lamy Safari notched grip sections are marked with raised designs that direct your hand into a solid grip. It’s a bit off for me but not enough to hamper short term use. I actually really like this feature. For an adult it is likely not going to work perfectly with our larger hands and already established grip but for children using fountain pens I assume not having this would add frustration as the child has to constantly find the right place to hold the pen to get it to write.