PDA

View Full Version : New in more ways than one...

GilsDesk
April 5th, 2012, 11:13 AM
Hello!

I'm new to FPG and new to fountain pens as well... This time around, I guess.

I used them a bit in my younger days, when my mom owned a few and I had a nice Sheaffer super slim model. (Still have it, but it's getting super-hard to find those skinny Skrip Cartridge II units.)

Anyway, it's around 30 years later and I'm drawn to fountain pens again. Why?

I need a reason? Well, if I took some time to think about it, I'd have to say:

1) I type a LOT, and I'd like to keep my handwriting (which is actually hand-printing) looking halfway decent. I realized that I was going for months without writing anything by hand that was any longer than a post-it list of groceries. What better reason to write more things by hand than because there's a cool fountain pen at hand?

2) I like to write (stories, poetry, and such), and I have always found that writing slowly by hand allows the mind to be a bit more creative and think before committing something to the page.

3) Fountain pens make me write more slowly, probably due to my left-handedness.

4) I'd like to pick up a little calligraphy skill.

5) They are just plain beautiful (most of them, anyway - have you seen that Montegrappe Chaos designed by Stallone? Eww.).

6) They bring back memories of days long-gone, even if you didn't live in days that long-gone.

7) The COLORS! Such amazing INK COLORS!

I could go on. Anyway, I have a
- twsbi Diamond 540 Amber (I think it's more orange, but I love that pen) with an F nib,
- a Lamy Safari in Charcoal (F), and
- my old Sheaffer, and
- two italian pens we picked up in Poland last year, but I can't remember their brand at the moment, and
- an EF nib on the way for the twsbi

As you can see I'm just getting (re)started at this. I hope to have many more as the years go forward.