PDA

View Full Version : Just Bought My First Montblanc

Sham69
December 26th, 2013, 11:50 PM
won a 146 on ebay for 350 aud which i think was an ok deal? especially within australia things are ridiculously priced here.. it is burgundy has a two tone nib (the seller does not know nib size but he seems like an honest gentleman, has 7000 sales with 99% feedback, he is an antiques seller)

would anyone be able to give me a rough idea of what year this pen would be from and perhaps ease my mind that i got an ok deal (if i did not i am happy for someone to tell me i paid a bit much for it) ? http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/390726386568?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

this will be my first montblanc as i am only a student, however it is not my first very nice pen. I have a visconti homo sapiens and divina springs which i cherish but have been in search for a decent montblanc for a long time and i liked the red colour.

HermetiC
December 27th, 2013, 04:39 AM
Attending to the box, I think your 146 is from the middle 90's. Nothing changes from present model.

piscov
December 27th, 2013, 04:52 AM
late 80īs till mid 90ies. The bottom of the box will have W. Germany or Germany and that can give you a closer date of production, if W Germany is probably before 1990. Good price and a great choice, congratulations!

Sham69
December 27th, 2013, 05:53 AM
thanks very much guys, i am happy with that! hopefully its a med or bold nib something i can get ground nicely into a stub!!! can't wait

RuiFromUK
December 27th, 2013, 06:16 AM
Welcome to the MB owners' club. Please bear in mind that MontBlanc pen purchases are contagious.

I also have a MB 146 Grande of that period and it still writes like on the first day.

Littlepen
December 27th, 2013, 06:35 AM
Contagious is an understatement started with a 146 ball point now got the rollerball and fountain pen to match.Not to mention a 1980 149 fine nib.

piscov
December 27th, 2013, 07:02 AM
From picture 2 looks to be an F or M...