PDA

View Full Version : Budget practice paper for FP?

9iron
December 27th, 2013, 06:52 PM
I'm really new to all of this. I am in basic practicing mode, repetitive letters, simple sentences, looking to improve basic form. Using a Lamy Safari EF with Pelikan Brilliant Black (at this point it's what I've got). In looking around local stores I can only find horrible cheap filler paper, blank sketch pads (paper's not bad really, but it's unlined) or $10 bound notebooks that are too small, and certainly too expensive for practice. Looking for reccomendations for standard sized paper that is economical and is good with a fountain pen. There are a couple of big box stores nearby, like Michaels, Staples, etc. willing to place an on line order as well if it makes $en$e.

KrazyIvan
December 27th, 2013, 07:02 PM
HP laser paper in the 28lb variety. Purchase a 500 page pack for less than $20.

9iron
December 27th, 2013, 07:12 PM
Sorry, should have clarified, wanting either lined or graph paper so I can work on uniform size, spacing, straightness, etc..

spotted and speckled
December 27th, 2013, 07:13 PM
HP laser paper in the 28lb variety. Purchase a 500 page pack for less than $20.

This stuff is perfect. If you want lines for practice, there are templates online that you can print out darkly and put under the sheet you are practicing on. Try http://incompetech.com/graphpaper/

spotted and speckled
December 27th, 2013, 07:15 PM
Or you can go to Staples and try out their sugar cane paper (bagasse paper). Like looseleaf paper. Paper quality is highly variable though.

cwent2
December 27th, 2013, 07:15 PM
Sorry, should have clarified, wanting either lined or graph paper so I can work on uniform size, spacing, straightness, etc..

You can download a template and print on your inexpensive laser paper

http://www.iampeth.com/lessons_guidesheets.php

9iron
December 27th, 2013, 07:52 PM