PDA

View Full Version : Sheaffer Balance 875 Lifetime Fountain Pen

Pjculbertson
December 28th, 2013, 02:00 PM
I need help identifying approximate time period the pen was made. I think the 1940s but unsure. It is an 875 Balance Lifetime.
P m

mhosea
December 28th, 2013, 02:42 PM
According to Richard Binder's writeup http://www.richardspens.com/ref/profiles/balance.htm, that's the radius clip, which dates the pen from 1935-42. The brown striated color he lists from 1936-eol, so we're down to 1936-42. The next clue is the lever filler, which might reduce the upper bound, but I'm only guessing because I know some of the later models were plunger fillers.

Pjculbertson
December 28th, 2013, 02:48 PM
I really appreciate the help. I am new to vintage pens and any added knowledge is useful!

jar
December 28th, 2013, 03:38 PM
The 875 was not a model but rather the original MSRP. Lever fillers continued on past the Balance pens and pretty much up until the introduction of the Snorkel and TM in the 50s.

Pjculbertson
December 28th, 2013, 04:15 PM
In further researching, I learned that the pen was called the Balance Sovereign. This is based on the price $8.75. Size, standard slim, nib type lifetime and color brown striated. This pen was made between 1938 and 1942 at which time it was discontinued for the Triumph line.

Roger W.
December 28th, 2013, 11:18 PM
Sheaffer seldom just ended pens so be careful about end dates - they aren't in stone by a long shot. I can point out a lot of pens that Richard's site says ends on such and such that are later examples.

Roger W.

Pjculbertson
December 29th, 2013, 10:49 AM
Thank you. I didn't know that. Mind if I ask how you acquired your knowledge on Sheaffer? I can find a link here and there but is there a book or other source to educate myself?

Roger W.
December 29th, 2013, 11:29 AM