PDA

View Full Version : Cheap but decent lined school books - Australia

WirlWind
December 29th, 2013, 07:01 PM
Howdy guys,

I'm relatively new to FP's (as in VERY - Still waiting on my first pens to arrive) and will be using a F tipped Parker 51 w/ black-blue Quink for taking notes in class. I basically swapped over to FP's because I was getting hand cramps while note-taking last year (2013, it's almost last year anyway) and this year I'm going to be doing even MORE note taking. So I used a mates Jinhao 750x and loved the lack of pressure needed to write well unlike my old ballpoints. I grabbed a cheapo fine pen off ebay (before doing enough research) and it was terribly scratchy on all of my note-books.

Basically, I'm trying to find some -cheap- paper that will do well with a Parker 51 fine or, in a worst case, a medium Jinhao nib for purely note-taking reasons. These books are likely to be hit with water, scuffed, beaten around etc, which is why I'm not wanting to buy a top quality book from CF / Rhodia for upwards of $10.

I'm wondering if anyone else from Australia has found any notebook / exercise books / giant-ass a4 ring-bound books with good quality paper that doesn't also cost a bajillionty dollars?

I've ordered a few of these : http://www.officeworks.com.au/retail/products/Paper/Note-Pads/Exercise-Books/A4-Exercise-Books/SMPEBA4192

And one of these : http://www.officeworks.com.au/retail/products/Paper/Note-Pads/Note-Books/AC1718099?cmpdt=20131226&cmpcr=preshop&cmptp=PPC&cmpprv=getprice&cmpprd=AC1718099&cmplnk=&CA_6C15C=620015440000136288

I'm not expecting the best paper, but I'm hoping one of these will at least be passable.

Does anyone else from down-under have any experience with decent yet cheap books from down under?

Cheers,

- Josh

kaisnowbird
December 30th, 2013, 01:31 AM