PDA

View Full Version : Frozen Ink

fpquest
January 3rd, 2014, 01:23 PM
I ordered a bottle of ink recently forgetting about the weather and that it might sit in my mailbox overnight if it arrived on the wrong day. It arrived on the wrong day. The ink was mostly frozen but not enough to break the bottle. I would expect the ink to be OK once it thaws. Should I be thinking something else? Thanks.

cwent2
January 3rd, 2014, 01:33 PM
I am not an expert either, however I saw or heard in one of the Anderson's pod casts they were discussing this very issue - the major concern is breaking the bottle - they said if ice did form as ink is like 90% water, no harm would come after it thawed.

fpquest
January 3rd, 2014, 01:43 PM
I am not an expert either, however I saw or heard in one of the Anderson's pod casts they were discussing this very issue - the major concern is breaking the bottle - they said if ice did form as ink is like 90% water, no harm would come after it thawed.

Thanks. I'll let it thaw and give it a try tomorrow.

Tracy Lee
January 3rd, 2014, 05:30 PM
Important to not open until ink has thawed. That is the advice from all the videos out there. Where I live I am more worried about ink cooking, not freezing. :/ Good luck, let us know how it goes.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk 4

earthdawn
January 3rd, 2014, 05:58 PM

That was going to be my reply as well... I remember Brian talking about that.

With the sudden drop in temps and snow we got today I am kind of hoping the ink I have inbound now won't arrive till Monday when it's suppose to be in the 40's

fpquest
January 3rd, 2014, 07:36 PM
Important to not open until ink has thawed. That is the advice from all the videos out there.

Unfortunately I opened the bottle before I saw it had frozen, it had been inside awhile and wasn't so cold I noticed, but there was still a little frozen ink in there, but I'll give it a shot and let you know.

Tracy Lee
January 3rd, 2014, 07:59 PM