PDA

View Full Version : Wild 51 while antiquing

Cameo
January 11th, 2014, 05:04 PM
Hello to all - this is my first time posting on this part of the forum. I wanted to upload a few pics of the Parker 51 I bought while I was out "antiquing" with my wife. It has a steel cap and the tag said the pen was from 1948 and was labeled parker buckskin. I'm sure it will need some work so I am planning a trip to see a gentleman who has taught me about fountain pens. Thanks for looking and for any information you can send my way. 871387148715

Jeph
January 11th, 2014, 05:08 PM
nice find

tandaina
January 11th, 2014, 05:16 PM
My understanding is those old fillers are pretty tough. I'd try and see if it'll take water, might not need anything at all.

Very nice find. 51s are work horses and I like the less common colors.

gweddig
January 11th, 2014, 05:22 PM
If it is indeed Buckskin, then you have happened upon one of the less common colors. Nice find!

--greg

sloegin
January 11th, 2014, 05:22 PM
Not buckskin, but cocoa. Buckskin did not come in the aerometric filler.

Cameo
January 11th, 2014, 05:38 PM
After reading the replies, and getting some help from google - I also think that I have a cocoa 51 and not a buckskin. In the search images I found, I didn't notice a buckskin with a steel cap... Thanks for all the help!

Cameo
January 11th, 2014, 06:32 PM
Tandaina, I followed your advice and my new friend started to write!8730

tandaina
January 11th, 2014, 06:58 PM
Yay! :)

Did it take water so you filled it with ink...

Or did it take water and revived the ink some owner left there 50 years ago? That's a 51 for you. :) :pound:

Cameo
January 11th, 2014, 07:23 PM
It was a revival of the old ink!

usk15
January 12th, 2014, 01:06 PM
That's a beautiful find! good luck with this workhorse!

Cameo
January 13th, 2014, 03:24 PM
Thanks!

lisantica
February 15th, 2014, 08:31 AM
I love old ink revivals!
Congrats on a marvelous find!

Frank
February 15th, 2014, 06:35 PM