PDA

View Full Version : inks inside included cartridges

MechanicalAnalogy
January 13th, 2014, 07:39 PM
I just received my Nemosine Singularity from Paramount Goods LLC, via Amazon. I decided to give the cartridges a try instead of my Noodler's Bulletproof Black. And, ohmygosh, it writes so much smoother.

I am still very new to fountain pens, so I can't tell if it's the nib or the ink. And I don't want to clean out the ink to try the Noodler's until the cartridge runs dry (which should be soon).

Anyway, is there a known way to track down the ink in a "free" cartridge? I'd assumed it wouldn't be anything of merit, but now, I'm dying to know.

Cheers!

Jeph
January 14th, 2014, 03:35 AM
I don't know about the source of the carts but it could just be that you got a pen with a sweet nib.

All the carts that I have tried were pretty dry relative to Diamine or Quink. Wetness does add smoothness, but I have not had an ink change the character of a pen for me yet. Nor have I had any pen perform better with cartridges than it does with bottled ink.

I have noticed that Noodler's blacks tend to run slightly dry for me though.

KrazyIvan
January 14th, 2014, 08:28 AM
I have found that the Monteverde pens come with some nice black cartridges. It is probably my favorite black next to J. Herbin Perle Noire.

RudyR
January 15th, 2014, 10:07 PM
You have an excellent fusion of ink and pen. It makes you happy. Live with it for a while. If all you want is black ink, then it seems that the cartridges are a very good buy. There are probably other inks that will be able to replicate the qualities that you like in this ink. The cartridges appear to be international size cartridges so you can get many other brands to try.

But right now, it seems you are happy with what you got. Maybe the people at Paramount can give you a lead on where you can get a bottle of the stuff.

MechanicalAnalogy
January 20th, 2014, 07:33 AM