PDA

View Full Version : New Safari owner

Lt. Tom
May 1st, 2012, 09:08 AM
Greetings. I'm a brand new fountain pen geek and a new Safari owner. Let me start out by saying, I'm breaking one of my own rules here. My post counts are always low on forums, because I generally don't speak unless I've got something to say. Well, I don't really have any reason for making this post. I'm making it because; a)No one else I know understands my excitement at discovering how simple, straight forward, unmessy, and all around enyoyable fountain pens are to use. And b) I love this pen! I joined FPG in the first place just because it has a Lamy board, and in my humble opinion, it should be more active.

OK, so here's my quick thumbnail review of the Safari from a complete beginner's perspective, incase a search brought anyone to this thread; Theres not much to say. Honestly, whatever drama you may have heard is involved in the use of a fountain pen, doesn't apply. There is no drama involved with owning and using this pen. It's sturdy, it's good looking (IMHO) and it simply works. As long as you remember to cap it when you're done with it, the next time you pick it up, it will simply start writing. Period. I do have a comment about the nib. When buying "lesser" pens, I've always enjoyed medium points. Something I read somewhere made me want to order my first fountain pen with a "fine" nib. I'm probably going to order a medium nib for this one because as flawless as this nib has been, it's not what I need in my current situation. For note taking and journaling I wish it were a little broader, and for filling out forms at work (invariably on cheap copier paper) I wish it had an "Extra Fine" nib. Part of the appeal of the Safari is the ease in switching nibs on it, but really, who am I kidding, it's a perfect excuse for buying more pens...........

(gratuitous low quality pic of the pen)

- Tom -

KrazyIvan
May 1st, 2012, 10:06 AM