PDA

View Full Version : Platinun Maki-e 3776, any owners?

ExeArco
February 2nd, 2014, 07:23 PM
Are there any owners of this pen on this forum, I'm currently in the deciding phase of my next fountain pen purchase. I'm a beginner to the hobby. I came across the Platinum Maki-e 3776 fountain pen while looking through Goulet pens.

Sadly though, this pen has scarcely been reviewed and I'd like to ask a few questions if anyone has this pen.

First, how is the cap, is removing it a nice process and is it secure?
I'm a student and I find screw-caps slow to remove, and I've once had a screw-cap pen, a Noodler's Ahab unscrew in my pants and empty the entire piston onto my pants. So I'm forever afraid of having a pen leak in my pants.

Second, how is the body/section, is it large enough and what about the weight?
I like my heavier X450 to my Ahab, so I feel as if a heavier pen works for me but It's not the worst thing in the world if its a lighter one.
However, what is a serious concern is the diameter. Do you run into problems with the size being to small when writing, is it comfortable to hold?

Third, how is the finish?
I'm a fan of black/gold 'classic' finishes, so this caught my eye. Then I saw the Maki-e options, that looks beautiful, but I've read of production flukes.

Fourth, how is the nib?
I'd be personally looking into a fine, being a student, but I want to know about the wetness. I find my Jinhao X450 to be too wet for my liking. I'd really like something that is wet enough to be smooth and get the ink in the dark shades that I want but not wet enough that I have to stand around looking like an idiot waiting for my last note to dry for a minute, even while using Private Reserve Ultra Black Fast Dry.

Fifth, How is the feed?