PDA

View Full Version : Help with identification

Massaya
February 7th, 2014, 05:37 AM
Hi, I'm new to all this, but love my pens, and working on them. I recently recued and interesting Barrel and cap in perfect condition, I have refurbished it with a new section, feed and good nib, but I still can't identify it. It looks about 1930's and the clip on the cap suggests that by it's design. Any help or advice welcomed.9640

Jeph
February 7th, 2014, 06:05 AM
I'd call it a pre 35 Sheaffer Craftsman as my best guess. That extra hump on the clip is a little strange and the nib was probably robbed so it is hard to say.
Some dimensions might also be helpful although the Craftsman pens came in all sorts of sizes and flavors.

Edit: Due to the clip, I am going to call it a Sheaffer sub-brand.

Massaya
February 7th, 2014, 06:33 AM
Sorry not to have put the measurements in it's 14cm long. Quite a large pen.9643

Massaya
February 7th, 2014, 07:33 AM
Here's a drawing I hope shows the clip design better.9644

pengeezer
February 7th, 2014, 08:05 AM
I'd call it a pre 35 Sheaffer Craftsman as my best guess. That extra hump on the clip is a little strange and the nib was probably robbed so it is hard to say.
Some dimensions might also be helpful although the Craftsman pens came in all sorts of sizes and flavors.

Edit: Due to the clip, I am going to call it a Sheaffer sub-brand.

I'd be willing to think that it's not a Sheaffer,maybe not even a sub-brand. More likely
a third tier brand.

John

Annie
February 7th, 2014, 09:24 AM
It certainly looks like a Sheaffer Balance but without the 'branding' so I would say it was some second/ third tier pen too. If it were my pen, I don't think I'd worry about it as it looks like a lovely pen and a keeper if it writes well.

pengeezer
February 7th, 2014, 11:03 AM
My reasoning for seeing it as a third-tier pen is the top of the cap--Sheaffer Balances
bring the tip of their caps to a point. Some third-tier pens have the tip flattened,as it