PDA

View Full Version : What Pen Next?

epexlinux
February 27th, 2014, 12:16 PM
I have always used Lamy pens.
Have a safari and a few Al-star's
I love these pens. I like that they are cheap and well built.

As I have always just used these fountain pens I have no experience with any others.

What pen should I go for next?

I like the idea that the Lamy nibs are swappable and tend to use italic nibs.

Looking for something with a similar but I have much more of a bigger budget now.

Bogon07
February 27th, 2014, 02:24 PM
A Lamy Nexx. I think it is actually a better pen than either the Safari/Joy or Al-Star & uses the same nibs too.

Lamy Studio look & feel great but the curved chrome grip section on most of them can become slippery in some conditions so perhaps a Scala which has a straight grip section.

Then there are all the tubular Lamys: Logo, CP1, Pur, Linear, ST & Accent.

lisantica
February 27th, 2014, 05:34 PM
I enjoy the LAMY brand as well. The price-point to satisfaction ratio is right on for me.
The other pen brand that I have in mind for you is TWSBI. I see a lot of posts about craftsmanship issues on older ones (maybe newer too), but I have two TWSBI Minis and one TWSBI Vac 700 and they are a joy to use. Very reliable for me at work where I write for about 2.5 to 3 hours a day.
I own some Pelikans and Parkers and love those, but there's something about an inexpensive pen that writes well that is a budgetary thrill.

I'm sure you'll get a lot of good input.
Have a fun quest!

ChrisC
February 27th, 2014, 05:36 PM
I'm gonna wait for thr TWSBI Vac Mini :D
I'll probably get mine from Pendleton Brown with Angels Wings and a Butter stub Italic

onepuff
February 27th, 2014, 06:22 PM