PDA

View Full Version : Which would you purchase? Pilot VP or Pelikan M205?

bec11mort
March 31st, 2014, 09:56 AM
Most of my pen collection right now consists of nice, but relatively inexpensive pens (Lamy Safari/Al-Star, TWSBI Mini, Kaweco Sport/Al Sport, Pilot Prera) and I'm in the market for something a bit nicer (<$150 price point). I prefer smaller pens and love demonstrators, and like a nice smooth wet nib (who doesn't?). I mostly use FPs for note taking (I'm a graduate student). The two pens I'm considering are quite different, and despite doing considerable research I just can't decide. I decided it was time to ask everyone's opinion!

Would you recommend a Pilot Vanishing Point or Pelikan M205?

Right now the Pilot VP is coming out on top since I'm scared to like the Pelikan too much (a Pelikan collection is far outside my current budget), but I hesitate after some disappointment with my Pilot Prera.

Thank you in advance!

Jeph
March 31st, 2014, 10:22 AM
I just ordered a VP yesterday, so I can't give good advice on what to do. I have a handful of M200's that are the same size as the M205. I love my M200's. I ordered the VP becasue a western EF is still just slightly too wide for how I prefer to write for work. I like the VP for the looks, for the easily retractable nib for short spurts of note taking (my normal writing) and the thinner line. I honestly don't much care for the looks of any of the M205's, but my blue and grey marbled M200's look very good. Plus the nice piston, removable nib unit, good size and nice balance. The steel Pelikan nibs are also very good in general. Both offer you the option of buying different sized replacment nibs so that is no help. But I can say that I doubt that you will go wrong between those two choices. And a Prera is not a VP by any means. You might like the Pilot too much as well. I can't say for sure how to pick one over the other. and I suspect that you are going to end up with both anyway. :)

Nomdeplume