PDA

View Full Version : Broken nib on no name pen

Crazyorange
April 17th, 2014, 07:44 PM
I fountain a very pretty no name fountain pen at an antique store. The pattern on the barrel was attractive and price is reasonable but one of the tines is broken. I'm a newbie to vintage - how do I determine if the pen is worth buying or avoiding? Is it easy to find another nib or should it be repaired? I'm looking to use the pen....it's certainly not a collectors item....but maybe it's better to stick with pens that have working nibs? Any words of wisdom?
Thanks

scrivelry
April 17th, 2014, 08:04 PM
I think this is one of those things where it is going to vary hugely from person to person.

I personally love vintage pens and I am slowly learning to repair/restore them.
Some things are a lot easier to do than others. A vintage pen caught in the wild will very likely need a new sac, and as for the nib, there are places to get new nibs - the question is whether you can get one you like that will fit the section and feed.

I might not be the only person around who has stubbed a vintage nib with a pair of scissors and a nail file... it is a good way to go with vintage nibs that have lost the end of one tine... (Ok, I know I'm not, I learned about it online but I refuse to implicate my sources...)

Getting a nib repaired can be very expensive because it is very skilled work and it takes time - probably you are better off getting a new nib. A picture of the pen - well, as many pictures as possible - might help us figure out what nib it takes and what that would cost you.

Personally, I love my little collection of trash can pens, even if they sometimes require a bit of whimsy to deal with issues like missing jewels, and I write with them all the time. If you love it, and it is not expensive, get it and see what can be done... lots of help available here!