PDA

View Full Version : Antique Portable Desk

dennis.baker
April 20th, 2014, 10:07 AM
Please see pics of an antique portable desk I picked up at an estate sale. It is in great condition and all the parts such as key, ink bottle, etc. Can anyone tell me about it and the possible value.

Jeph
April 20th, 2014, 10:53 AM
I have no idea but it sure is neat!

Mags
April 20th, 2014, 01:29 PM
I am no expert but have seen them listed in rougher shape for $300 and they can be worth $1,300 and more. If the leather, hinge, key and lock are in good shape and the inlay and wood is in good shape you may be able to add more of a premium than the $1,300. Be sure to get an experts advice on its value.

Tracy Lee
April 20th, 2014, 06:57 PM
That is wonderful, congratulations! I would love to have one of these and they can be so expensive when you find them.

ypsilanti
April 20th, 2014, 07:54 PM
Oh, I've drooled over these so many times. I'd love to have one and there are people who make them. Can't remember the name of the store online where I "window shop" but if you google "writing slope" you'll find them. Choose the wood, the finish, the leather writing surface, the size of the pen holders and inkwells and hidden compartments. Oh, my. Dreamy.

dennis.baker
April 20th, 2014, 08:14 PM