PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone!

rgperedo
April 22nd, 2014, 12:16 PM
Hello, my name is Rob. I am a graduate student here in NY. I study art history (precisely renaissance architecture) but I have lots of interested within art history. I have been collecting pens (non fountain pens that is) for a looooong time. My first "real" fountain pen was an amazing Sailor Recruit. I lost it and that was the catalyst for my collecting fountain pens (if anyone has this pen and is willing to part with it please please message me, it's been a mission of mine to recover this amazing pen).

I love researching and reading so naturally fountain pens were my inclination. I love finding out new information and it seems like you can never know everything about fountain pens, which I find exciting. I mentioned I have been collecting pens for a long time, this is because I am also an artist and I started with art supplies and I eventually bought all kinds of pens/pencils/writing utensils. I must admit I always had a romantic idea of fountain pens and what they signify, which was sometimes intimidating, but I am about a dozen fountain pens in and I am no longer intimidated, although I still highly regard them as a symbol. I still haven't decided if it's good or bad or if that even matters hahaha.

I intend on being active in the community as long as I don't have an insane amount of schoolwork. I've read some of the posts and I have to admit I'm excited, it seems like it's an excellent and helpful group. Thank you for taking a few minutes to read my thread. Please feel free to message me or reply with questions or comments. Thank you.

cheers

-R

VertOlive
April 22nd, 2014, 01:40 PM
Welcome Rob! So what sorts of fountain pens are you packing?

caribbean_skye
April 22nd, 2014, 05:59 PM
welcome, welcome. Dare I ask how many pens are in your colection and which would you say is the most interesting one and why.

rgperedo
April 22nd, 2014, 06:41 PM