PDA

View Full Version : Manu Propria - Urushi Fountain Pens made in Switzerland

Manupropria
April 27th, 2014, 02:42 AM
Hi there,

I am new to the pen world and to this forum and would like to introduce myself and my work.
In my professional life I am a watchmaker, dedicated to Japanese art and craft and a passionated urushi lacquer artisan.
Last December I decided to start making fountain pens, built from Japanese ebonite, feed and gold nibs supplied by Bock Germany and all pens of coarse finished with urushi lacquer.

I allow myself to write down some information on urushi lacquer for those that are not to familiar with.

Urushi is a precious natural material and is*the most important material in Japan lacquer*art.
Only 150g of sap can be collected from*each mature lacquer tree over ten years*old.*

In comparison to the world’s annual*yield of diamonds which is about 30*tons, only 1.5 tons of the internationally*recognized highest quality Japanese*urushi can be obtained in a year. Last February I had the chance to pick up 1.5 Kg. of finest "sakari urushi" harvested in late Summer 2007 in the mountains of Nagano, Japan, which I use for my work

Today in Japan, 90% of the urushi lacquer used is of Chinese origin, processed in Japan because it cost only 10% of the price paid for Japanese urushi.
The difference between Chinese and Japanese urushi is, that Japanese urushi is highly transparent and much more liquid than Chinese, which on one hand allows to brush on thinner coats, which is important for stability, on the other hand it is possible to add more color pigments as a result to have more brilliant colors.

Urushi is very robust. An urushi-coated*bowl can withstand the extreme temperatures*up to 300°C.*
Its chemical resistance is also so high*that even aqua regalis (nitrohydrochloric*acid) which melts gold cannot erode it.
Urushi has a hardness of 6 on the Mohs*scale, which is the same as that of glass or a stone.