PDA

View Full Version : Manu Propria - Urushi pens made in Switzerland

Manupropria
April 27th, 2014, 03:55 AM
Hi there,

I am a watchmaker from Switzerland that has currently started to make fountain pens.
So, I am pretty new to the pen world and would like to introduce one of my work.
Since many years I am dedicated to Japanese art & craft and urushi lacquering.
So obviously my pens are made of ebonate and finished with urushi lacquer.

The pen I am showing today is a pen I call "Kiseru". the name derives from the Kiseru the Japanese tobaco pipe.
The pen is made of Japanese ebonite, the feed and gold nib is supplied by Bock Germany.
The lacquer finish is glossy black, called "Kuro Roiro Shiage". This finish is the most complex and time consuming among all the urushi lacquering techniques. As a stopper I applied a little snail also built of urushi, mixed with metal powder and angraved.

For any questions on urushi lacquer please don't hesitate to contact me at any time.

Best regatds,

Martin Pauli

sharmon202
April 27th, 2014, 06:24 AM
Very beautiful and Welcome to the forum.

writingrav
April 27th, 2014, 06:30 AM
Always nice to have another artist on the board. Welcome!

firewhatfire
April 27th, 2014, 06:31 AM
love the additiion of the snail shell as a stop. How is it attached? I tried a country boy version of Urishi and messed it up after about 8 coats. It is practically impossible to get the real Urushi lacquer in the U.S. or so I have been led to believe.

Can we see the nib holder section taken off? It looks like it will post, does it?

Thanks for inspiring me to attempt it again.

Phil

Manupropria
April 27th, 2014, 07:10 AM
Hi Phil,

Thank ou all,

Urushi is indeed a very difficult material to work with.
If the layer is to thick, the humidity to low in the "furo" drying chamber it wil become "bokeru", it stays sticky and doesn't harden.
Put into the "furô" by relative humidity of 90% or more, it will dry/harden within a few months.