PDA

View Full Version : Tooth vs. smoothness

JHanna
May 11th, 2014, 07:16 PM
Hello all:

I am just beginning a collection and want to make sure that I understand the terminology well. I'm assuming that "tooth" and "smooth" are at opposite ends of the spectrum and that smoothness is a desirable characteristic. A couple of months ago I purchased a Lamy Vista (medium) that I really liked. 2 weeks ago I bought a Lamy 2000 (also medium) while on a trip to NYC. Call me crazy but I like the Vista better. The 2000 is so smooth that I feel like I have less control over it and that my already horrible handwriting suffers as a result. The 2000 also skips periodically - something that the Vista almost never does. Could a nib be too smooth?

I've read that Aurora nibs offer more tooth. Is there an Aurora (or other manufacturer) that is comparable in price and quality to the 2000 that would have more tooth? Lastly, could the 2000's nib be modified to have more tooth (and more consistent ink flow)?

Thanks

mhosea
May 11th, 2014, 08:00 PM
The term "tooth" refers to a scraping sensation. Smoothness is rather loosely defined, but I suppose you could consider it a lack of tooth. It does not necessarily mean that the nib doesn't give any sense of texture. I think different people have different ideas about this, but there are some Sailor nibs that deliver a lot of feeling of texture. They remind me of a felt-tip pen. A lot of people still regard these nibs as being very smooth, while others equate smoothness with lower drag.

I do think the problem with the 2000 is that it is a bit too smooth. You may learn to adjust to it over time. If not, then a few strokes (really not that much!) over the gray 12000 grit surface of nail buff sticks like these

http://www.fountainpensacs.com/nib_polishing_sticks.html

might tame it for you. (Don't use the pink or white for this!)

Lady Onogaro
May 11th, 2014, 08:01 PM
Hi, JHanna,