PDA

View Full Version : FP Theft in Berkeley, CA - Please Help

mister_john
June 2nd, 2014, 07:55 PM
An Open Letter to the Fountain Pen Community:

Dear Fountain Pen Afficianados:

It is a very sad day for me. I am a professor at UC Berkeley who loves fountain pens. I was upset to find my office broken into and my fountain pen collection, consisting of more than 50 pens, stolen. The thieves seemed to know what they were doing as they located some pens in rather non-obvious places.

Some highlights of the collection at a Namiki Owl limited edition, a wide array of Pelikans from the 50s and 60s, and a Lamy Persona, a long discontinued model of wonderful design. Also in the collection were a Sheaffer Legacy with touchdown filler, a Sheaffer Intrigue in whale shark, and some lovely Omas Arco pens. Another unusual item is a Waterman Opera pen, a 1990 version of the Man 100 with lovely chasing. One item of strong sentimental value is a 1989 Montblanc 146.

If you see such items suddenly turn up on eBay or offered for sale at a retail store, please alert the police. The theft is UCPD case #14-01720 and the phone # is 510-642-6760.

I miss my collection greatly and will pay a handsome reward for its return. Please help me recover it.

Sincerely,

John Morgan

earthdawn
June 2nd, 2014, 08:17 PM
UGH !!!

Thats terrible.. and very sad to hear.

We will keep our eyes open... some of those pens are certainly unusual for sure and will turn a head if they pop up.

Hope tomorrow is a better day...

PS.. do you mean the 2002 LE Namiki Owl? .. if so ... wow what a loss... and a pen that will be very obvious if they try and sell it

PPS... Post pictures if you have them ...

VertOlive
June 2nd, 2014, 08:41 PM
How awful! I lost an Edison for a day and was upset, but this I can't imagine. I know the pens aren't easily replaceable, but was your collection insured?

Oh man !!!

writingrav
June 2nd, 2014, 08:51 PM
Really terrible. So sorry.

Tony Rex
June 2nd, 2014, 08:52 PM