PDA

View Full Version : Hello y'all!

rbiemer
June 5th, 2012, 11:31 PM
My name is Rob and found this place after watching a youtube video about TWSBI pens.

I'm a chef by trade, an unabashed amateur photographer--still using film cameras, and have been using varied and cheapish fountain pens for a while.
Looks like lots of good people and info around here!

I don't always have a fountain pen in my pocket but generally that is my pen of choice.

Currently, I am using a TWSBI 530. Got that one last year and am thinking of getting the 540. I have also used a couple of different Pelikan pens and have a Kaweco somewhere in my desk. And a few Chinese pens. I got those based solely on looks and price. Not the best way to choose a pen! :)

I like the 530 quite a lot but found their "M" nib is a bit broad for my taste. If I get the 540, I will likely get their F nib. Don't generally like too fine a point as my handwriting is terrible and I dig into the paper with any nib that's too pointy--clearly I don't know much (any?) technical terms yet!

I'll be luring a bit after this intro while I read through the forum and educate myself enough to try to contribute.

Rob

KrazyIvan
June 5th, 2012, 11:35 PM
Welcome to the board. I know what you mean about digging into the paper. I used .18 mm fine point gel pens from Japan before I got serious about fountain pens. Just loosen up the pressure on the pen a little. It took me about three months to finally get the hang of it and 6 months to write without thinking about it, so be patient. It really does pay off.

FP_GaF
June 5th, 2012, 11:42 PM
Hello Rob! Welcome indeed.

goldiesdad
June 6th, 2012, 07:18 AM
Howdy Rob ... If I were a chef I would weigh 800 pounds ... Welcome to the world of pens ...

I just ordered the 540 EF I have the medium and find I have a hankering for them finer nibs ....

Good Luck to ya ...

Scott

writingrav
June 6th, 2012, 07:31 AM
Hi Rob,