PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from western MA

jfsisler
June 9th, 2012, 06:30 AM
Well I've been lurking long enough. Time to finally get on the ball and introduce myself.

I am a 37 year old legal assistant living in Sunderland, MA. Where is Sunderland? We're about an hour north of Hartford, CT and 30 minutes south of Brattleboro, VT. We're about an hour and a half northwest of Boston, and this part of the state is pretty rural. I'm a native of Virginia (as is my husband) and we've been here 12 years. We came here when he took his job as the UMass football videographer.

I have been a pen addict in general since I was a kid -- summer didn't start until I bought a new notebook and pens to take on vacation. I've been a writer in one form or another since elementary school so I guess the addiction started early. My fountain pen addiction started in high school when my grandmother gave me a Sheaffer Targa for my birthday -- I found one in a catalog and fell in love with it. Needless to say, I got picked on a little in school for using it, but I didn't care. That pen went everywhere with me, but unfortunately I lost it:jaw:

I didn't really start collecting fountain pens until I started flying home to visit my family- there used to be the most amazing pen shop in the Philadelphia airport and it was there that I bought a Waterman Harmonie and fell off the wagon. My next purchase was an Aurora Ipsilon (which I dropped recently and cracked it right down the middle of the barrel) but eventually I fell out of favor with my pens because it was too hard to find ink.

Thanks to the wonders of technology, the internet has enabled me and I don't think there's a cure for what ails me. At least I hope there's not:)

I own a Lamy Safari, an Al-Star, a Cross Aventura, an Esterbrook SJ and I recently won a vintage Sheaffer piston fill with a gold nib on EBay....

I don't have a lot of expensive pens, but the ones I have write very well.