PDA

View Full Version : A fascinating find... a Parker Aspergillum?

HeresyHammer
June 13th, 2014, 12:27 AM
For those who don't know me, my handle is HeresyHammer. I'm new to the fpgeek forum. I thought I'd share with you an interesting find that came my way.

To preface this story, you should know that I'm a Catholic Priest. In one of my assignments, as in many homes, there was a junk drawer in the kitchen that looked like it hadn't been cleaned since Grant took Richmond. Being one that likes things to be neat and in order, I decided to clean out the drawer. As I was making my way through rubber bands, pencils, and ballpoints; I came across an something that promised to be a fountain pen. I knew it was a parker immediately because of the distinctive clip. Yet there was something different about this pen. A Chi-Rho was engraved and gold-filled on the barrel of the pen. For those not of the Christian tradition, Chi-Rho are the first two letters in the name of Christ in Greek. The Greek letters are usually depicted one superimposed upon the other. I thought for a second that maybe this pen belonged to a former pastor. When I opened the cap, I couldn't believe it. In place of a standard nib, there was a small chalice like object. It took me a couple of moments to figure it out, but then, like a revelation from on High, I shouted, "it's an aspergillum!" Again, for those not of the Christian tradition, aspergillum is a holy water sprinkler. At first I thought some clever predecessor had changed a normal fountain pen to serve a completely different purpose. As I did some research, I found that parker actually made these things for the clergy back in the day. A brilliant idea, I must add, and one that should be resurrected.