PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Montblanc Permanent Black Ink

Fawkes
July 3rd, 2014, 02:18 PM
I recently tried using Montblanc's permanent black for my drawings, but I have given up on it because the ink never seems to dry. I can go back to the drawing two days later and find the ink will still smudge. For reference I am using a Pelikan 400NN with an XXXF nib on 150 gsm Stillman & Birn paper.

Is this normal for this ink? Is there anything I can do to shorten the drying times? Or should I just go back to Noodler's Black?

Wile E Coyote
July 3rd, 2014, 02:31 PM
Try thinning the ink with water.

Jeph
July 4th, 2014, 03:28 AM
That is very strange. I have no knowledge of that brand of paper. What is it coated with? On standard cheap copy paper my Permanent black won't smudge immediately after writing. On Rhodia it takes sometimes 10 or 15 seconds to dry to a smudge free state but that is all. And all of the pens that I use are wet. With a needlepoint I don't have any idea why you are having that problem. There must be something about the paper that the ink really does not like. Have you tested the ink on other papers to see how it behaves?

Fawkes
July 4th, 2014, 11:20 AM
I'll try thinning it with water. Any ideas as to why that might work? I'm not much of an inkophile. Stillman & Birn is a maker of high-quality sketchbooks. The Epsilon series is similar to Rhodia paper, but works well for drawing. Aurora Black, Noodler's Black and other inks all work fine on it, but the MB ink refuses to dry. The MB ink works semi-well on other papers so I don't know why its giving me trouble.

bleunuitguy
July 4th, 2014, 02:36 PM