PDA

View Full Version : Section Pliers Not Gripping

RayCornett
July 9th, 2014, 08:17 PM
I just received an order for pen repair parts and got my first pair of section pliers. They fit the sections as expected but they don't grip.

So, to those of you who use them regularly, do you do anything to the pliers to help them grip?

Crazyorange
July 9th, 2014, 08:25 PM
I'm a newbie....so hopefully I can help. The pliers grip when the section can be removed. I find they don't "grip" when the sections is firm in the barrel. If the shellac is holding firm, you will need to continue to soften it. More soaking time or a bit of heat. Plus I use a square of rubber mat to grip the other side of the pen. You can also try squeezing the pliers a bit harder...but be cautious.

RayCornett
July 9th, 2014, 08:32 PM
I tried them on a section I had already removed and cleaned the barrel and section to make them free of any sealants. The section comes out when I use my fingers but the pliers just slip.

Jon Szanto
July 9th, 2014, 10:39 PM
I would suggest a piece of bicycle inner tube or other soft, thin rubber, or even easier, a piece rubber mat (often called "spider mat"). Works a treat.

Jeph
July 10th, 2014, 12:12 AM
I have them, but I am with Jon Szanto in that I usually just use a strip of rubber. I use the tail from an adjustable oil filter wrench that used a thick rubber strap to grip. You can squeeze spark plug wires all you want but you do not want to do that on a pen like Crazyorange mentioned. I scuffed up the pads on my pliers with some sandpaper and sometimes you need to use the opposite side to get a grip.

This is not your problem, since you said that the secontion comes out with your fingers, but for anyone else reading this thread later: when/if you do get a good grip, do not try to use your Herculean strength to force things apart. Catarophic failure can follow. If things do not move with firm pressure, stop and do something else first. That usually means careful heat.