PDA

View Full Version : I have come for "the MontBlanc people"

SliceofPi
August 22nd, 2014, 09:48 PM
I originally posted this video question in this post (http://fpgeeks.com/forum/showthread.php/8350-I-hope-this-is-the-proper-place-to-post-this). After getting some great info from a few people over there folks suggested that I talk to you all. The following is a video I made concerning a pen I got today 08/22/2014.

http://vidmg.photobucket.com/albums/v505/Trajen/IMG_0090.mp4

Any information that you may have would be appreciated.

Chi Town
August 22nd, 2014, 11:50 PM
Is it heavy? I have one just like it and it is heavy if it is a fountain pen? It is worth around 575.00 Good Luck!

orfew
August 23rd, 2014, 07:46 AM
Hi, I am by no means an expert on MB, but I do own a few dozen of them. I believe what you have is a Montblanc silver solitaire 144 made in the late 80's. It looks to be in almost unused condition. The 925 on the barrel refers to the silver content; 92.5 % purity of the silver. This makes it possible to call the solver sterling silver. The nib is a bit hard to see but the markings you describe are correct. 18K refers to the gold content. The nib is solid gold. 4810 refers to the height of the Montblanc mountain in meters. The M in a circle also refers to the Montblanc company. The 750 is another reference to the gold content. 750/1000=18K/24K. I have seen this type of feed many times on 144s from the 80's. The section looks right with the gold clutch ring.Be careful with this clutch ring when inking the pen, they have been known to corrode. Make sure to wipe it each time after filling if using the piston converter. The converter looks correct to me. It is the older push in type as opposed to the newer screw in model.