PDA

View Full Version : Chinese pens leaking when stored nib down

mariom
August 23rd, 2014, 04:38 PM
I'm relatively new to pen infatuation, and as a means of cheaply getting a few extra pens to play with I've bought some Chinese pens. Without exception, the pens leak badly when stored nib down - and I don't mean just a few drops. An entire converter full of ink will drain in between 10 minutes (worst case) and overnight. So far this is happening with 3 Baoers (including the 10 minute pen) and a Jinhao X450 (the overnight pen). This is happening with the original converters, replacement converters and a new OEM Monteverde cartridge, both with and without the cap. I've also checked and re-seated the feed on the worst offender with little effect.

Is this to be expected? While I aim to store my pens horizontally, it isn't always practical to ensure that they stay horizontal at all times. I haven't seen any significant evidence of this with my better pens ( 2 x Monteverde Invincia, Parker Classic, Lamy 2000).

Is there any way to address the problem, or have I perhaps scored a batch of faulty pens?

Mario

gbryal
August 23rd, 2014, 05:01 PM
I guess I've always stored mine nib up. Maybe I'll fill my Baoer 388 and Jinhao x450 later to see what happens.

D Armstrong
August 23rd, 2014, 05:26 PM
Drippy leaks like that are a classic sign of a bad seal (or a hole in the sac in an older pen). If the same thing is happening with a cartridge, I would suspect some kind of scoring on the wee piercing tube (the technical name), which would allow for an air leak. My guess is a manufacturing defect.

The only solution, other than sending them back, is to buy pens which were made before 1959. ; )

RayCornett
August 23rd, 2014, 07:01 PM
Not necessarily a bad seal. It could be ink that is too think to be in a pen that is stored nib down as well.

mariom
August 24th, 2014, 06:21 PM