PDA

View Full Version : Rohrer & Klingner Ink

kenmc
June 27th, 2012, 07:38 AM
I found it very odd that no one on the last podcast had any experience with Rohrer & Klingner ink. I have been using it for a few years now and really enjoy it. I think since Eric seems to like green ink he would like the Verdigris or Verdura. I have found that Verdigris really works well in a pen that tends to be dry or has a skipping issue. They also offer a few iron gall inks. I like the Salix since it has a different tint of blue compared to Lamy and MB blue/black.

KrazyIvan
June 27th, 2012, 08:52 AM
While I have heard of the ink, looked at swabs and generally wondered about the ink, I have not sampled it yet. I am not particularly enamored with iron gall inks. I do have Lamy blue-black which is rumored to be iron gall but I don't think it has been confirmed. I don't use it much (I have filled two pens from it since I purchased it) and may post the bottle for sale and try some samples of Rohrer & Klingner inks with the proceeds. :)

maiboo
June 27th, 2012, 03:03 PM
I've purchased a bottle of R & K Fernambuk and while I like the color, I find it a dry ink. The only pen I can use it in is my Stipula Vedo. I've tried it in my TWSBI 540 and Micarta and it writes so dry I end up taking it out, but in my Vedo, it's flows perfectly. I'll have to try it in my other pen, maybe my Prera to see how it does. This has stopped me from venturing out and trying other R & K colors.

geoduc
June 27th, 2012, 08:13 PM
R&K is one of my go-to brands as I find the inks well behaved with nice colors. I also appreciate that they're not oversaturated, so you get decent shading with the right pen/paper combination and the ink is reasonably easy to clean out of a pen. Currently have eight different colors plus the LE blue-black on order. Favorites are Verdigris, Alt Goldgrun and Salix.