PDA

View Full Version : Safari feed question

Lt. Tom
June 28th, 2012, 03:22 PM
In another thread, we're discussing the flow properties of Lamy Blue cartridges. I didn't want to hijack that thread, but it got me wondering. Do all Safaris (AlStars, Joys) regardless of nib size have the same feed? I tried Lamy USA's website, but they don't sell the feed seperately. Can a XF nib and a 1.9 mm nib each happily use the exact same feed? I've swapped nibs on them without a thought, and they've always worked fine. That other thread has just got me curious.

Bogon07
June 28th, 2012, 04:32 PM
I have no technical knowledge of this but I would say the Safari and Joy would be identical. The Al-Star maybe slightly different due to the front grip section having to dock with the metal barrel in a slightly different manner to the plastic Safari/Joy barrels.

Makes you wonder if there is any significant difference in the feeds other Lamy pens such as the Nexx, Studio, Logo etc.

The interchangability of nibs is feature of many pen in the Lamy range so they must have given some thought to the feed flow characteristics being able to cope with the nib variations.

Do other pen manufacturers tweek their feeds for particular nibs ?

Lt. Tom
June 28th, 2012, 04:57 PM
I honestly have no idea. I had never even considered the question before today. I had always just assumed that all Safaris came with the same feed in them, because when you swap nibs on them, they work just as well with the new size nib as they did with the old. I guess I just spent too much time at my desk today staring into space, wondering why some of us have had no trouble with the Lamy blue T10s and some of us have had trouble. Altitude? Barametric pressure? Humidity? The fact that my desk faces east?

tytoalba
June 28th, 2012, 06:37 PM