PDA

View Full Version : Hi from NY

set2374
September 12th, 2014, 09:54 AM
Hi guys,

I just wanted to introduce myself to the community. I am Steve and from Long Island, New York (USA). I am 40, married and have a beautiful 3 year old daughter and two Australian Shepherds. I have been collecting watches for years and started developing an interest in fountain pens in the past couple of years.

I had been using disposable Bic pens for years in the office, which hurt my hands and were hard to write with. I don't have great penmanship and disposables didn't help matters. I moved up to cheap and moderately priced rollerballs, which helped a bit. Then serendipity struck. After a long day in court, I found a what I later learned was a Waterman Carene laying on the floor of a deserted courtroom (I am an attorney). It had a super-smooth fine 18k nib. I was in love!!!! After a week with that pen, my hand cramps were gone and my handwriting didn't look like chicken scratch any more!!! Since then, I tried a bunch of cheap Chinese fountain pens with mixed results. I bought a couple of monteverde invincias and a Visconti Rembrandt (black, medium steel nib). I recently added a Montegrappa Deluca (black with rose gold, medium steel nib) and a Montegrappa Classica (blue resin, silver findings and 14k medium nib). I guess I have a thing for sexy Italians. :-). I am just beginning this hobby, but after watching Matt Armstrong and Steven Brown's video reviews, I a fear for my wallet's safety. :)

Any, I am looking forwarding to getting to know you guys and making some new pen pals.

--Steve

Sailor Kenshin
September 12th, 2014, 10:31 AM
Howdy, neighbor, and welcome aboard!

What color was the Carene? I have a Coral M from the ’90s and a more recent Amber Shimmer B.

set2374
September 12th, 2014, 10:42 AM
Howdy Sailor:

I just took a couple of pictures of my starter collection and I'll add a mini-review for each of these pens: