PDA

View Full Version : How do you find the pen that is right for you?

Wrathen
September 19th, 2014, 09:07 AM
So I will first say that I'm very new to FPs and I'm very sorry for the wall of text that will follow but I need some advice and direction. If that is not your thing then feel free to stop reading at this point you will not hurt my feelings in the least.

SOOO to date I have only ever used 1 fountain pen.... a TWSBI 580 w/ a fine nib. I have an Esterbrook SJ w/ a fine nib (just snagged for a good price, I'm not sure I'm going to like it but its on its way to me) and 2 vintage pens (I plan on playing with to see if I can make work, but both are too light and thin for me). When I first started looking into fountain pens I had it narrowed down to a Lamy Safari/Al-Star or a TWSBI 580 because I liked the idea a piston/cartridge converter filler. I then managed to catch a good deal on the "For Sale" forums from brleibe on the TWSBI and thus my first pen was bought. I ordered 5 or 6 different sample inks and a bottle of Noodler's Black from Goulet but now I'm not sure where to go as with other pens. I'm not a collector and dont ever plan on going that direction, much like my wetshaving I like to find out what I like, buy what I need, and just enjoy that. After year and a half of trying things broke down and bought a Above the Tie (ATT) 5 piece system and love it it will be the last razor I own/buy.

I would like to own 4-6 pens so I can have 2-3 inked at any given time. Through the end of the year I can spend maybe another $100 or so on pens/NIBs. Ultimately what I would like to have own would be:

2-3 pens that I can carry around daily and enjoy without much worry of hurting them. I think my TWSBI and Safari/AlStar fits this bill really well. Also the Lamy 2000 / Pilot Vanishing Point