PDA

View Full Version : Parker 51 vac. Restore

GING GING
September 27th, 2014, 07:51 PM
This is my first attempt14120

Farmboy
September 27th, 2014, 08:42 PM
I generally try to avoid soaking the filler. The different metals have favorable half-cell potentials to promote corrosion.

But sometimes you do need to get them wet.

GING GING
September 27th, 2014, 09:13 PM
Farmboy, what is the filler? No I'm not be funny. I really don't know what the filler is

Farmboy
September 27th, 2014, 09:40 PM
The filler unit is the spring loaded rod at the back end of the pen. It is threaded into the barrel with a retaining nut and is made of a celluloid rod, and usually an aluminum ferrule and steel spring. The metal parts will corrode easily. If you are blessed with a carbon steel spring, it can go to junk quickly.

Todd

pajaro
September 28th, 2014, 08:38 AM
The first time I did one of these, quite recently, I found that the filler unit unscrewed from the barrel using some rubber gripping material to grip the exposed threads on the filler unit and just unscrewing it. There is no sealant used on the threads. To make it easy, I bought a brass filler unit with the sac installed. This is not cheap, about $30. It would have been less expensive to resac the old filler unit, which is still good. I just screwed the new filler unit into the barrel. Apparently when it stops threading into the barrel it forms a seal. I filled the pen and it works, no leaks. I didn't disassemble the front end of the pen.

What I did do was to use shellac on the filler unit threads. Warned that this was not recommended, I removed the filler unit and used alcohol on a Q-tip to remove the shellac from the filler and from the barrel threads. Then I screwed the filler unit back in. I used the rubber gripping material to snug it. The pen works fine. I can't believe how simple this was.

EDIT: I forgot to put in that I used a pic to remove old sac material from the barrel before installing the new filler unit.