PDA

View Full Version : Platinum #3776 Century -- Bourgogne

set2374
October 6th, 2014, 12:09 PM
Hi guys! This is my first official fountain pen review, so go easy on me. :) I am a novice to the hobby, but I have been casually collecting fountain pens for about 2 years. I tend to be drawn to Italian pens, with a couple of German and French pens thrown in for good measure. As much as I love my Italian beauties, everyone of them has had an issue (my Montegrappas never seem to write well OTB and my Visconti, while a great writer, was not assembled well even though the quality of the components is good overall). What good is a gorgeous pen if you can't write with it? After doing some research, I decided it was time to try a pen from the land of the rising sun. The styles are a little dull (Nakaya excepted), the QC and nib performance on the big three Japanese makers seem to be universally praised. So, I decided to give the Platinum 3776 Century in Bourgogne red a shot:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-pv_QuWh4Ins/VDLNsh4Ge8I/AAAAAAAAtl8/plWaGT1gdSw/w667-h889-no/IMG_20141006_131248.jpg

I bought it from a eBay seller at a nice discount and I have had the pen for a couple of weeks so far.

Nib Performance: