PDA

View Full Version : How do I get started making kitless fountain pens.

Ignacio
November 1st, 2014, 01:00 AM
Hello, I've been using fountain pens for two years but now I want to make my own fountain pens but can't really find anything solid. What do you guys use or recommend? I think the best way start is to buy a metal lathe but the question is which one will do the job for the money. I also know nothing about making threads or which tools I should buy with the metal lathe?

Quantum Sailor
November 1st, 2014, 09:02 AM
I worked as a machinist many years ago, and I'm sure that the actual pen makers can chime in better than I can but I've been looking at the things I'd need to do the same. For the lathe I have been looking at reasonably priced small lathes with adjustable speeds and mechanized bit feeds. So you have a mount that moves that holds the bit. Some of the really cheap lathes just have a bar to steady a hand held chisel. You want to make sure that the chuck is well made also as if its not it will come loose. They sell bit kits but I would go somewhere like www.exoticpenblanks.com, there may be a better place but you can see what kind of materials they sell and look at bits made for that kind of material. I would take the approach of picking up what I need when i need it that way you don't wind up buying a bunch of tools you really don't need. There's also a forum I found www.penturners.org that should have some good information.

Like I said the people who are making pens should be able to give a better answer, this is just what I've found looking to get into it myself.

Wile E Coyote
November 1st, 2014, 10:25 AM
Asking what lathe to buy is like asking what car to buy...

Check out the International Association of Penturners (http://www.penturners.org/) website. Too much info to go over in just one post.

Ignacio
November 1st, 2014, 12:51 PM