Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jinhao 159 will only write using reverse side

Thanks

Default Jinhao 159 will only write using reverse side

I am very new to fountain pens. I wanted to go for a cheap one to see if I would like it at first so I purchased a Jinhao 159 and some ink samples. I was able to fill up the ink the first time with no problems and it wrote great. But after I cleaned it out (with water) and replaced the ink (I have tried many different types) a problem arose. The ink will not flow onto the paper unless I am using the backside of the nib. The only way I have been able to get it to flow from the correct side has been to push the ink through using the converter every few lines or so. I do not understand what is wrong. I have tried different inks, I have cleaned the nib and the feed. The only thing I am doing kind of weirdly is that when I am filling the converter I take the converter out and dip it right into the ink (since I have very little volume), but after that I pump it through to get it started at the beginning. Any idea what the problem could be?

Thanks for the help~!

Thanks

Default Re: Jinhao 159 will only write using reverse side

You state that you cleaned the nib and feed. How did you do this, did you remove the nib and feed or did you flush the nib and feed. If you removed the nib and feed it is possible that you did not seat the nib and feed far enough into the section upon reassembly.

Just a thought....
    Cw

“Life is short, Break the Rules.
    Forgive quickly, Kiss SLOWLY.
    Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably
    And never regret ANYTHING
    That makes you smile.”
    ― Mark Twain

Thanks

Hey, kmanic, and welcome.
    I'm no expert, and I don't own any Jinhao pens, but here my two bits.