Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Removing Nib/feed - How Many Times Is Too Many Times?

Thanks

Default Removing Nib/feed - How Many Times Is Too Many Times?

I'm fairly new to the hobby (4 months) and have learned a few things about nib adjustments by using a couple of cheap Chinese pens. I have replaced nibs a few times on Jinhao pens and have pulled nibs/feeds for cleaning a few times. The first time a nib/feed is pulled from the section it is usually pretty hard to pull it out. But the second or third time, it's noticeably easier.

Here's my question: Is there a generally accepted limit to how many times a nib/feed may be pulled from a pen? I'm guessing that at some point there could be enough wear on the parts that a leak could develop and/or the nib/feed just may not be held securely within the section.

Any comments will be appreciated.

Thanks

Default Re: Removing Nib/feed - How Many Times Is Too Many Times?

That's a good question for the repair people I guess. I suppose there is always the possibility with friction fitted parts. On one hand, that part of the pen is presumably designed for the stress of having a feed/nib packed into it, but on the other, not to have it pulled out and jammed in repeatedly. A lot depends on the materials; I imagine ebonite feeds and sections probably can take a lot of that, and can be heated to sort of bounce back, but certain kinds of plastic will wear more easily than others.

It's kind of a hypothetical, right? If you are doing 20 nib changes on one pen in a year, maybe you need more pens to hold all those cool nibs...

3. The Following User Says Thank You to gbryal For This Useful Post:

BillPorter (May 16th, 2015)

Thanks

The answer is: 42

5. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Wile E Coyote For This Useful Post: