Thread: Gate City Pens Belmont with a Flex Nib versus a Vintage?

Thanks

Default Gate City Pens Belmont with a Flex Nib versus a Vintage?

I'm wondering what the differences are between purchasing a new Belmont with a flex nib versus getting an older flex nibbed pen either on eBay or at a pen show (yes, I know the risks of eBay and I know that pen shows are better -- it all boils down to opportunity). Please give me your opinions!

Is Richard Binder still grinding nibs and tending to the flex nibs for Gate City or has he retired from that?

Is more pressure required to flex the Gate City nib than a vintage nib?

I'm a relative newbie to flex pens. I bought one of the Noodler's flex pens but gave it to a friend of mine because it was a hard starter despite my tinkering. I ground "angel wings" into a Fountain Pen Revolution flex nib and put that onto my TWSBI 530. It's okay but I find the nib very toothy and I think it requires too much pressure to flex.

I'm a fan of smooth, springy nibs which tend more towards fine but I'm learning to appreciate the larger tipped nibs. In your opinions, would a Gate City Belmont with a flex nib work for someone like me? Or shall I take the plunge with a vintage?

Thanks

Default Re: Gate City Pens Belmont with a Flex Nib versus a Vintage?

I've never owned or used a full-flex vintage pen, only semi-flex. I do, however, own a Belmont with a full-flex nib by Richard Binder. Linda and Mike Kennedy at Indy-Pen-Dance are still offering Richard's full-flex nibs. The pen is a recent purchase, but I've had it long enough to realize that there is an obvious difference between semi-flex and full-flex.