Thread: Advice on pen 'feel'..

Thanks

Default Advice on pen 'feel'..

Hey guys,
    I'm pretty new to fountain pens, but I'm addicted and I love them. So far I have some Estie's, Pelikan m600, Lamy 2000, Karas Kustom INK, Parker Sonnet, Twsbi vac700 and a few more...

Anyway... I found that out of the pens I currently have, I really really love the Pelikan m600. It has an 18k medium nib that is wet and springy. It's a dream to write with.
    My question is: what other brands/models do you think I would enjoy based on what I like about the Pelikan?
    A good example of what I'm saying is that I bought a new Twsbi, and though it's a smooth medium nib, it just doesn't tickle that same funny bone that the Pelikan does.
    (Also, the Lamy 2000 medium that I have also is ultra-smooth and wet, not much flex though)

I guess I'm looking for springy, wet, smooth nibs..
    Think I would be happy with a Sailor 1911?, a Platinum 3776?

Any help would be great!! (oh, and I like big cigar shaped pens but not necessary)

Thanks guys!

Thanks

Default Re: Advice on pen 'feel'..

You might like Pilot's soft nibs. I have a Pilot Custom 91 with a SFM (i.e. soft fine-medium) nib which I'd describe as springy, smooth, and wet. I also have a Pilot Custom 74 with SF (soft fine) nib, and while it, too, is springy, it's less smooth and less wet. (I imagine this is simply a difference between SF and SFM nibs, and it has nothing to do with 91 vs 74.)

I also have a Sailor Sapporo with an F nib, and a Platinum 3776 with an SF nib. Sailor's nib is one of the firmest nibs I have (as firm as a steel nib), and as far as I know, this is the case for all Sailor nibs. My Platinum SF nib is nice and springy, but not super smooth (it is a very fine nib, though, and I enjoy the feedback, but if you're into super smooth nibs, you might not like it). Platinum's nibs aren't considered to be among the smoothest, and their "ordinary" (i.e. not soft) nibs are supposed to be quite firm.