Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Moleskine Issues

Thanks

Default Moleskine Issues

I have been using Moleskine journals exclusivley for about 5 years now and I am just getting into fountain pens. Up until this point I have been using ball points and roller balls but once I switched to a fountain pen I an having HUGE feathering and bleed through issues. I used my new Pilot 78G Fine tonight and I was even having issues big enough to notice with a pen that fine. I have another small Moleskine and a Rhodia note pad that I use at work and I am not having any issues with them at all. In your experience, is there that much of a quality control issue with Moleskine? I have to not finish a journal but this one is about to have the finished pages ripped out and put into a new Rhodia. Gotta use these new fountain pens!

FPG Donor ♕
    Thanks

Moleskine journals are not fountain pen friendly at all. The only ink I've used without much bleed through consistently are the iron gall inks from Rohrer & Klinger, Montblanc and Akkerman.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,081 Times in 555 Posts

Moleskine paper is hit or miss, historically mostly miss. Some people report better results lately but generally its a no go for tour fountain pens.

Thanks

Other than the limited editions, Moleskine's paper is poor, especially at a premium price!

If you're carrying on with them, fine nibs, and dry-ish inks (Pelikan Blue/Black) for example will be fine.

Inkyjournal rates inks on the basis of Moleskine friendliness, search on their "100% Moleskine Friendly" tag.

http://inkyjournal.blogspot.co.uk/se...ne-proof%20ink

Thanks
    Thanked 1,837 Times in 439 Posts