Thread: TOPS 35061 Computation Book

Thanks

Default TOPS 35061 Computation Book

This whole review can also be found on my blog.

Background

First, I'm relatively new to the whole fountain pen thing. I first got into it back in May of 2015 or so, and I didn't really appreciate paper quality at that point either. I mostly just used what I had lying around home or office. Once I started using fountain pens for a bit, however, I started caring more about the types of paper I was using and making sure it was fountain-pen friendly.

My interest in notebooks kind of takes a separate path, however. Back in school and university, I pretty much used relatively cheap stuff because I didn't care. For notebooks, this either meant a fairly heavy-duty 3-ring binder (as they do tend to wear out over the course of the year) with cheap lined filler paper or, if I decided to use spiral books instead, whatever was on sale at my local discount store -- again, cheap lined paper. Then again, I was also mostly using Erasermate, or, even cheaper, Scripto erasable pens back then, so it's not like I had good taste in writing equipment...

Getting into fountain pens has broadened my horizons, not just as to paper quality, but also different sorts of rulings. No longer did it just come down college vs. wide-ruled. There was unlined, graph, dot, and even Seyes (AKA "French") ruling to choose from. Given how I was an engineering major at university, I wish I had paid attention and gotten either graph-ruled spiral notebooks or graph-ruled 3-ring filler paper. It certainly would've helped with a lot of the types of notes I took in class.