Thread: A needle in a haystack

Thanks

Default A needle in a haystack

As I have spent some time reading the forums and conversing with you lovely people, I am trying hard to remember my first fountain pen.

Here are the details I remember:

I used it in 1989-90
    I bought it at WalMart or some similar store. I vaguely remember bubble packaging. It couldn't have been more than $5-10 or so because I was a freshman in high school and had no money.
    It used the standard international cartridges, which I also purchased at WalMart. No internet shopping back in the day.
    The nib was painted, and I only remember that because the paint peeled off.

Based on those memories, I am guessing it was not a Sheaffer or Pilot product, as those don't take the standard cartridges.
    Anyone have any idea of what kind of cheap pen started my journey? What brands might have been selling in a WalMart in the late '80s, early '90s? I don't even know what to google to get started!
    Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
    ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Thanks
    Thanked 3,712 Times in 1,610 Posts

Default Re: A needle in a haystack

Lots of "NoNamis" that used international standard cartridges and converters. Most were from China and Hero was often the source.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to jar For This Useful Post:

distracted_mom (March 3rd, 2016)

Thanks

Could it have possibly been a Platinum Preppy? They have painted nibs, but I thought they were eyedropper only, but I guess they could take cartridges. I just checked CultPens website and they offer it and mention it takes cartridges. Was it small like one? One to a package?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Anne View Post
    Could it have possibly been a Platinum Preppy? They have painted nibs, but I thought they were eyedropper only, but I guess they could take cartridges. I just checked CultPens website and they offer it and mention it takes cartridges. Was it small like one? One to a package?