Thread: Cahier Journals

Thanks

Default Cahier Journals

For years I have seen three packs of cahier journals (Moleskine) and have wondered what they are, how they are used. What I mean is, they look like they can be fit into some sort of cover (mostly due to their plain appearance) and wonder how these are used. Are they stand-alone thin journals? Do they take well to fountain pen ink? I have used Moleskine and Piccadilly journals for years.

How are these journals typically used? Are they housed in a case?

I know this is a stupid question. I've been curious about this for years.

Thanks

Default Re: Cahier Journals

I recently started using the Cahiers and yes, I put them in a Midori style cover I made which is larger to fit the Cahier size.

While I am new to cahiers, I am not new to moleskine. Moleskine is generally not considered to be awesome paper and you will see bleed through with wetter inks or sometimes even with medium or wider nibs. This doesn't bother me and I find myself going back to my moleskines after trying out Rhodia and Clairfontaine which just feel too slick to me.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,290 Times in 837 Posts

There are lots of leather and non leather journal covers now to put the cashiers in. The 3.5 x 5.5 size is most know in Field Notes but the size is great. You can certainly use them alone without a cover but many use a cover as they can house 3-4 journals.

The size is common among MANY manufacturers so getting good paper anywhere is easy. The Midori sizes never thrilled me though I love all the cool stuff they have for their eco-system. The paper though... I just don't like and nothing else but Midori really fits right.

Thanks

I use a couple of different types of leather covers, made by Fenner Crafts here in the UK. One is the Midori-style and the other just a simple leather cover which will take two cahier books or one volant. I don't have any issues with Moleskine paper - just use suitable inks!
    The Good Captain