Thread: Fountain Pen Recommendation as well as paper and ink.

Thanks

Default Fountain Pen Recommendation as well as paper and ink.

Ok I am still a newbie to the fountain pen world. I have used fountain pens daily for the last 4 months thanks to my professor turning me on to them. I am looking for my next step up in fountain pens for a daily writer and to add to my collection. So far I have 9 pens I have been experimenting with. I will list those below. I have even dove into nib tuning with very good success. With that said I will admit I screwed up 1 nib off my LAMY AllStar. I decided to try to tune and smooth prior to getting the proper micro meshes and shims. A lesson I learned with a less expensive pen. Matter of fact I have improved my tuning and polishing all with low end pens. Now I am ready to dive off into better pens and not where to start. I would like to spend less than $140 however I would prefer to get more than one pen. If I am better off getting a more expensive pen and forego the multiples that is fine too. Overtime I plan to add to my collection. Any suggestions is appreciated.

As far as paper I use a lot of spirals and letter size pads. I have tested some of the cheaper ones from Staples and Office Depot with mixed results. I am looking for paper that has little to no bleed through and smooth. Any suggestions is appreciated.

In regards to inks. I have limited experience with inks. I have only used Lamy cartridges and Pelikan 4001 Black inks so far. What others should I try that are good with fountain pens. Again Any suggestions is appreciated!

Here is a list of my limited Fountain Pens I have tried. Some I have multiples in various nib sizes so I will not repeat those.

My son is 16 loves to write and has acquired one of my fountain pens and uses daily at school. I would love to share a hobby with him like this since he has interest in them.

1. Lamy AllStar
    2. Baoer 801
    3. Jinhao 599
    4. Jinhao 250
    5. Jinhao x450