Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Reasonably priced pens.

Thanks

Default Reasonably priced pens.

Just curious really, do any long term enthusiasts still collect reasonably priced pens from various manufacturers, or does everyone end up going high end or vintage?

Thanks

Default Re: Reasonably priced pens.

What do you consider reasonably priced? It can be a variable range for everyone depending on income and fiscal responsibility.

Thanks

To be honest next step pens so £50- £200 so $60- $250. I'm a gas engineer not a footballer lol

Thanks
    Thanked 2,590 Times in 699 Posts

It would also be plausible ask what you mean by "long term" or "collect". Although the more pens one accumulates, the hollower it sounds to say "I'm a user, not a collector".

But I think that the more you have of what people call good starter pens, the harder it is to justify getting more. If you have a Pilot Prera, and a Lamy Safari, and a Kaweco Sport, and some sort of TWSBI, you can begin to get the idea that you're not going to get anything much better in that price range with modern pens. So you're tempted to move up a bit and start looking at the Pelikan M200 series, the Lamy 2000, the Pilot Custom pens, and so on. Or at least, I was.

And you can often get very interesting vintage pens for about the price of a modern "starter" pen. Of course, you have to make allowances for the likely cost of restoration, and whether you can do it yourself. But for me, this is more interesting that trying to find more bargain priced modern ones. And then, in the $100 to $200 range, you can find vintage pens that would cost much more if they were made today.